Who We Are

The Arts Commission is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization founded
 in 1959 to foster Toledo’s heritage in the arts. The organization is the longest-standing arts commission in the state of Ohio, serving youth, artists, arts organizations, and the general public. Since 1977, The Arts Commission has managed the City of Toledo’s 1% for Art program, the first in the state of Ohio and among the first in the nation, and maintains Toledo’s impressive collection of public art. 

What We Do

The Arts Commission delivers innovative and influential programming to the community, including public events that support and drive our local economy. In addition, the organization offers educational and professional development opportunities for artists and area youth, advocacy on behalf of artists and cultural organizations, and access to arts and culture for all in the greater Toledo region. 

Why We Do It

The Arts Commission is honored to serve the artists, cultural institutions, and creative community who make our city an inspiring place to live, work, and create. Arts and culture are at the core of strong and vibrant communities and artists play a vital role in both civic engagement and economic development. We believe the arts are for everyone, and we invite you to join us.

Expression is an essential need.

The Arts Commission is proudly supported by the Ohio Arts Council. By promoting the arts and connecting artists, the OAC makes the collective voice of the arts stronger for artists, for the public, for organizations, and for educators.

OAC Online

Our Staff

Crystal Phelps

Momentum Coordinator

Dave Ross

Creative Placemaking Project Manager

Emily Finkel

Office Manager

Jennifer Jarrett

Deputy Director

Jordan Buschur

Marketing Coordinator

Kelly Rose Hirsh

Donor Relations Coordinator

Lindsay Akens

Creative Placemaking Facilitator

Marc Folk

Executive Director

Marcia Culling

Financial Administrator

Natalie Gray

Youth Services Coordinator

Natalie Tranelli-Jacobs

Event & Volunteer Coordinator

Nathan Mattimoe

Art in Public Places Coordinator

Ryan A. Bunch

Communications & Outreach Coordinator

Shelly Harrington

LISC AmeriCorps Community Engagement Specialist

Tanasio Loudermill

LISC AmeriCorps Community Engagement Specialist

Victoria Stegner

LISC AmeriCorps Community Engagement Specialist

Board of Trustees

  • Sarah Skow
  • John Eikost
  • Julie Beckert
  • Kevin Kwiatkowski
  • Tony Jayne
Adrian Acebedo
Maureen Brown
Ramona Collins
Gretchen DeBacker
Michael Duket
Deborah Ernsthausen
David Guip
Marcia Helman
Dan Hernandez
Adam Jackson
Laura Jajko
Ardenia Jones-Terry
Maggie Kaser
Kate Kelley
Sharon Kerstetter
Claire Kirsner
Kristin Kiser
Joel Lipman
Bob Lubell
Robert Meeker, Jr.
Kathleen Merrill
Larry Meyer
Jim Moore
Maribeth Nitschke Phibbs
Dennis Norman II
Diane Phillips
Rhonda Sewell
Aly Sterling
Reginald Temple
Josh Thurston
Mechelle Zarou
Gail Zimmerman
Robert Zollweg

Honorary Trustees

Paula Brown
Liz Cole
Sara Jane DeHoff
Arnold Gottlieb
Sue Hague-Rogers
Jeff Jaffe
Patricia Levey
Rita Mansour
Diane Putnam
Susan Reams
Rory Shanley-Brown
Margy Trumbull
Peter Ujvagi
Tim Valko
Georgia Welles
Sandra Wiseley
Featured Supporters

The Arts Commission Instagram Feed