Young Artist Opportunities


Inspiring young artists ensures both a greater commitment to creativity and community that has a lifelong impact. We encourage area teens to express themselves through our youth programs. Toledo's teens need access to arts and creative opportunity maybe now more than ever. For more than 30 years our programs have inspired thousands of Toledo youth to explore their individuality while working as a team to change their city for the better and to develop more fully into thoughtful and responsible citizens. Our YAAW and Congressional alumni can be found all over the world and all over Toledo making a difference. 


Since 1994, Young Artists at Work (YAAW) has offered paid summer apprenticeships to area teens to learn creative skills and job skills alike and to connect to community through the creation of public art and salable works. Each year more than 40 teens from diverse neighborhoods and communities in and around Toledo come together to find a completely unique summer employment opportunity and access to an experience meant to impact for a lifetime.


Since 1983, in partnership with Congresswoman Kaptur, the Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition has offered a fine arts and commercial design experience for area high school teens. The annual reception and awards ceremony is host to hundreds of students, friends, and families from across Ohio's Ninth Congressional District, offering a curated fine arts experience in a professional gallery setting. Several awards are given, with the first place winner receiving the honor of having their work displayed in the U.S. Capitol for one year. 

34th year of the Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition for High School Students

Exhibition Reception on Sunday, February 26, 2017 4 – 6 pm

Remarks and Award Ceremony beginning at 4pm with Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur in attendance

Lobby of Fifth Third Center at One Seagate, Downtown Toledo 

Discounted Parking Available at Vistula Garage (610 Superior)

Into a Child's Eyes by Caitlyn McClusky of Waite High School

Self-Portrait by Maria Ciminillo of Maumee Valley Country Day School

Beyond the Horizon by Keith Weatherspoon of Bowsher High School

Student artists whose works are showcased in this year's exhibition, include:  

Erica Ahiekpor (Bowsher High School), Aniah Bell-Langster (Notre Dame Academy), Andrew Blachowski (Whitmer High School), Lillie Boose (Perkins High School), Jake Boyk (St. John’s Jesuit High School), Isabelle Brown (Whitmer High School), Crystal Buckman (Whitmer High School), Ben Carr (Bowsher High School), Maria Ciminillo (Maumee Valley Country Day School), Jordan Collins (Toledo School for the Arts), Samantha Cornell (Toledo School for the Arts), Christina Daniel (Toledo School for the Arts), Paige Davis (Notre Dame Academy), Anyse Doss (Whitmer High School), Cameron Fais (Toledo School for the Arts), Josie Fereza (Whitmer High School), Amanda Gargac (Cardinal Stritch High School), Victoria Gregg (Lakewood High School) Evelyn Hamady (Notre Dame Academy), Mckenzie Harris (Perkins High School), Jasmine Horrigan (Whitmer High School), Mark Hughes (Whitmer High School), Kaliegh Hummer (Bowsher High School), Micah Inak (Lakewood High School), Laila Jarson (Notre Dame Academy), John’aija Jennings (Rogers High School), Maggie Marx (Bowsher High School), Miranda Mauk (Bowsher High School), Caitlin McClusky (Waite High School), Amelia McDonnell (Lakewood High School), Sara McMillen (Lakewood High School), Mckayla Mejia (Toledo School for the Arts), Jennifer Meyer (Lakewood High School), Elyza Mihalski (Lakewood High School), Zachary Miller (Toledo School for the Arts), Micaiah Nelson (Toledo School for the Arts), Linh Ngo (Perkins High School), Andrea Oltean (Lakewood High School), Olivia Parr (Toledo School for the Arts), Cameron Jackson Patton (St. John’s Jesuit High School), Emily Perry (Lakewood High School), Samantha Prince (Rogers High School), Alyssa Radtke (Cardinal Stritch High School), Elizabeth Redner (Whitmer High School), Amelia Richardson (Lakewood High School), Emily Rigby (Maumee Valley Country Day School), Emily Rodriquez (Bowsher High School), Marisela Ruiz (Bowsher High School), Deja Scott (Rogers High School), Sierra Olivia Sedlock (Whitmer High School), Zachary Seiple (Toledo School for the Arts), Julia Spencer (Notre Dame Academy), Gabriella Tatkowski (Bowsher High School), Nathan Thomas (St. John’s Jesuit High School), Kelsey Tiell (Bowsher High School), Ambrosia Trout (Bowsher High School), Josh Trout (Perkins High School), Vanessa Urbina (Rogers High School), Keith Weatherspoon (Bowsher High School), Diamond Williams (Whitmer high School), Alexia Wilson (Whitmer High School), Hannah Wilson (Whitmer High School), Gabe Winiarski (Toledo School for the Arts), Elizabeth Winkle (Bowsher High School), Carissa Wu (Maumee Valley Country Day School), Adrian Yerdon (Perkins High School), Morgan Zickes (Notre Dame Academy)


If you are youth ages 14-18, submit your information at the below button and we will contact you when apprentice applications become available.

Inspiring a Vibrant Toledo

The Arts Commission Instagram Feed